a letter to my ailment

11 Mar

dear anemia,

oh how i loath you. you have been a plague on my life since i was 13, and after a lot of hard work i was finally rid of you. now, at 6 months pregnant you make a comeback and hit me like a ton of bricks. not only do you return without warning and suck the life right out of me, but you also drag down my blood platelets causing me immense amounts of worry, and a slew of blood tests to ensure you don’t drag it down anymore, and i won’t have to be refered to an obgyn by my midwife.

you.are.such.a.jerk.

so i will eat even MORE spinach and iron-rich foods, and i will continue drinking mineral tea, and taking prenatals and iron suppliments, and i will bid you farewell. get lost.

no love, marantha

Leave a Reply

