happy birthday dad..

24 Aug

my father

glenn george rosario birkett

august 24 1961- march 2004


today would have been my dad’s 49th birthday.

my step sister, and her oldest child, my nephew are flying in from ontario today

he’s the only one of his three grandchildren he met.

it will be the first time my sister and i have been able to grieve with one another.

i’ve been searching for words for weeks now. words to explain my dad. words to explain how much i loved him. how much he loved my mum and my sister and i, but none seem sufficient.

he battled aids for 10 years to stay with us- to be my dad. he taught me the greatest lessons of compassion, and acceptance i would ever learn. i hope he can see me know. i hope i can make him proud.

today i gather around myself the fragments of my father i have left, and my family, and i remember.

my dad and his father

my parents wedding

calvin and hobbes shirt my dad owned since he was 19 and i have worn to near disintegration 

“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”

— J.R.R. Tolkien (The Fellowship of the Ring)

Leave a Reply

